Plum Creek Farms’ corn crib, from what used to be the Lynnwood farm, is set to be demolished. However, a group of residents have formed a task force to examine other potential uses for the structure. Local real estate agent Virginia Kerr claims it adds value to the neighborhood by giving it an unique identity.
In 1934, Charles Lynn, vice president and general manager of Eli Lilly and Co., started a farming business. This wasn’t just any farming business, though. According to an article from the Carmel Clay Historical Society, the facilities at this farm were “state-of-the-art” in a time when “people still used outhouses.”
There were air-conditioned barns and steam pipes in the floors to protect cattle from the cold in winter. Horses had access to running water and the foaling stall was sealed with its own access to hot and cold running water. This farm employed 3 percent of Carmel’s residents at the time. Just a handful of the original buildings are still standing.
The Carmel Clay Historical Society will be running an exhibit on the Lynnwood Farm throughout this month.