Noblesville High School scholars honored


Current in Noblesville

Several Noblesville High school seniors and members of the 2010 graduating class have earned National Merit Scholarship and AP Scholar Awards.

Two Noblesville High School seniors – Jordan Burton and Alexandra McIntire – have been named semi-finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program, an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), a test which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.5 million entrants each year – and by meeting published program entry/participation requirements. Students whose scores are among the top 16,000 are named semi-finalists.

In addition, six Noblesville High School seniors have been named National Merit Commended Students and have received Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Those students are Jakob Boxberger, Reece Clark, Rachel Fox, Megan Foley, Crystal Matt, and Chase Smith. Their scores were among the top 50,000 on the test.

Seven Noblesville High School seniors and 41 members of the Class of 2010 earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on AP Exams.

The AP College Board’s Advanced Placement program (AP) provides students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams.

About 18 percent of the more than 1.8 million students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to also earn an AP Scholar Award. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams.

At NHS, 11 members of the Class of 2010 qualified for the AP Scholars with Distinction Award. This award is given to students who earn an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. AP Scholars with Distinction are Evan Drizin, Kylie Foster, Jennifer Franks, Ryan Gamble, Collin Hatcher, Jonathon Nance, Lauren Quimby, Michael Reichert, Jason Rowe, Anneliese Rupp, and Audrey Welklin.

Three current seniors and 11 2010 graduates qualified for the AP Scholars with Honor Award. This award is given to students who earn an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. AP Scholars with Honor are seniors Reece Clark, Adam Frye, and Alisha Hobbs, and graduates Nathan Brown, Bryce Dzirbik, Nathan Gabrek, Zachary Gentry, Austin Haselhorst, Rachel L. Johnson, Rachel R. Johnson, Michael Newman, Heather Stephens, Morganne Walker, and Benjamin Williams.

Four current seniors and 19 graduates qualified for the AP Scholar Award. These students completed three or more AP Exams with scores of 3.0 or higher. AP Scholars are seniors John Elmore, Ryan Ferguson, Matt Crystal, and Alexandra McIntire, and graduates Sarah Boyum, Seth Butts, Kaitlyn Collyer, Tina Edge, Grace Gill, Emily Goggin, Michael Hayes, Hannah Kim, Nathan Klopfenstein, Shannon Lavis, James Maxwell, Elliot Miller, Cole Misner, Samir Mjalli, Amanda Ogden, Kelsey Ploof, Nathaniel Staggs,, Allison Streeter, and Lilian Tuck.


Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: . You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact