WHS grads accept a record breaking $5+ million in scholarships


The Westfield High School (WHS) Class of 2012 has accepted a record breaking $5,092,088.83 in scholarships from colleges and universities, the U.S. Naval Academy and other organizations to continue their education this fall.

“In these tough financial times, this is a number we are so proud of,” shared WHS Principal Stacy McGuire. “Keep in mind this does not include the thousands of college credits earned at WHS through AP (Advanced Placement) exams or ACP (Advanced College Project Indiana University) course work.”

Thanks to outstanding academic performance, students were able to choose the college or university of their dreams.

Students were admitted to the following colleges and universities: Adelphi University, Anderson University, Aquinas College, Art Institute of Indianapolis, Art Institute of Pittsburgh, Auburn University, Augustana College, Ball State University, Barry University, Bellarmine University, Bluegrass Community and Technical College, Bluffton University, Bowling Green State University, Bradley University, Brescia University, Brigham Young University, Butler University, Calvin College, Carnegie-Mellon University, Carthage College, Case Western Reserve, Cedarville College, Clayton State University, Colorado School of Mines, Columbia College Chicago, DePauw University, Earlham College, Eastern Michigan University, Elmhurst College, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Emily Carr College of Art and Design, Everest College, Ferris State University, Florida Atlantic University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Florida State University, Fortis College, Franciscan University of Stuebenville, Franklin College, George Washington University, Grace College, Greenville College, Guilford College, Hanover College, Hawaii Pacific University, Herron School of Art + Design, Hiram College, Hobe Sound Bible College, Huntington University, Indiana State University, Indiana Tech, Indiana University, Indiana University East, Indiana University Kokomo, Indiana University Southeast, Indiana University-Purdue University at Ft. Wayne, Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis, Indiana Wesleyan University, Iowa State University, Ithaca College, Ivy Tech Community College, Johnson & Wales University, Kansas State University, Kent State University, Kentucky Wesleyan University, Lakeland College, Lee University, Lewis University, Liberty University, Loyola University, Manchester College, Marian University, Marquette University, Miami University, Michigan State University, Mississippi College, Missouri University of Science and Technology, Morehead State University, Murray State University, Nazareth College, Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture, New College of Florida, New York Polytechnic, Northern Kentucky University, Northwestern University, Ohio University, Oklahoma Panhandle State University, Olivet Nazarene University, Ontario College of Art & Design, Parkland University, Purdue University, Purdue University–Calumet, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Rochester Institute of Technology, Roosevelt University, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, Savannah College of Art and Design, Siena Heights University, St. Joseph’s College, St. Louis University, St. Mary of the Woods, Taylor University, Tiffin University, Transylvania University, Trine University, University of Alabama, University of Alaska, University of Buffalo, University of California Santa Cruz, University of Cincinnati, University of Colorado, University of Dayton, University of Evansville, University of Findlay, University of Florida, University of Illinois, University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Indianapolis, University of Kentucky, University of Louisville, University of Minnesota, University of Mississippi, University of Nebraska, University of Nevada Las Vegas, University of Notre Dame, University of South Florida, University of Southern California, University of Southern Indiana, University of St. Francis, University of St. Thomas, University of Tennessee, University of Toledo, University of Washington–Seattle, University of West Virginia, University of Western Georgia, University of Wyoming, Valparaiso University, Vanderbilt University, Vincennes University, Wabash College, Wagner College, Wells College, Western Michigan University, Wheaton College, Wilmington College, Wittenberg University, and Xavier University.

In addition, WHS had its first appointment to the U.S. Naval Academy. Luke Schaeffer will be attending the academy this fall.

“We wish each graduate the best of luck as they move forward to the next chapter of their lives,” McGuire added.


Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Current Publishing, 30 S. Range Line Road, Carmel, IN, 46032, https://www.youarecurrent.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact