Carmel resident appointed as Chairperson of the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission


Staff report

Gov. Mike Pence named Carmel resident Carol Stephan as Chairperson of the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission.


“A servant leader in every sense of the word, Carol Stephan has the vision and drive necessary to chair the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission,” Pence said. “Given her depth of knowledge and passion for the commission’s work, I am confident she will continue to strengthen the agency’s efforts and will work tirelessly to ensure the very best service for Hoosier utilities customers across the state.”

Stephan was appointed to the IURC earlier this year and becomes the first female chair of the commission. She replaces former Chairman Jim Atterholt, who recently stepped down to serve as Chief of Staff in the Office of the Governor. Stephan most recently served as Assistant General Counsel for the IURC and has extensive experience in state government.

Stephan earned her undergraduate degree from Indiana University and her law degree from the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law.

Members of the IURC are Chairperson Carol Stephan, Commissioner Carolene Mays, Commissioner Angela Weber and Commissioner David Ziegner.