Quakenbush overwhelmingly selected to succeed Sheriff Bowen


Dennis Quakenbush will soon be Hamilton County’s new sheriff.


Elected in the May 8 primary election, Quakenbush received 43.33 percent of the votes cast for the race, to fill the shoes of incumbent Sheriff Mark Bowen, who chose not to seek reelection.

He received 14,053 votes of the total 32,432 ballots cast in the race. Opponents Bill Clifford received 12,619 (38.91 percent), Eddie Moore 2,166 (6.68 percent), and Mitch Russell 3,594 (11.08 percent).

Quakenbush is a Cicero resident, is married with four sons and has served in law enforcement for the past 15 years with the Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office, where he currently serves as captain of the patrol division.


Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Current Publishing, 30 S. Range Line Road, Carmel, IN, 46032, https://www.youarecurrent.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact