Caucus selects Darren Peterson to replace Rowland on Noblesville Common Council


In a meeting room in Noblesville City Hall on Oct. 22, a group of 32 voting precinct committeemen chose Darren Peterson to fill a seat on the Noblesville Common Council, made vacant in September by Mary Sue Rowland.

Among Peterson, candidates included Mike Davis and Rocky Shanehsaz. Each had three minutes to address the caucus prior to the first vote being taken.

The winner had to receive at least receive more than 50 percent of the vote, at least 17. Peterson won after three ballots, receiving 17 of the 32 votes.

After the first ballot was cast, Davis received 9 votes, Peterson received 10, and Shanehsaz received 13. The second ballot gave Peterson 15 votes, Shanehsaz 12 votes, and Davis five votes, who was then eliminated for the third ballot. The third ballot gave Peterson the edge needed, receiving 17 votes, and Shanehsaz received 15 votes.

“I’m excited, and I’m ready to get started,” Peterson said after the caucus.

Peterson said the general theme of his candidacy and term is “smart, sustainable growth.” Peterson will be a candidate for an at-large seat on the council again in May 2019 for a four-year term that will begin in 2020. His current term filling Rowland’s seat will end in December 2019.



  • Peterson – 10
  • Shanehsaz – 13
  • Davis – 9


  • Peterson – 15
  • Shanehsaz – 12
  • Davis – 5


  • Peterson – 17
  • Shanehsaz – 15

Current Morning Briefing Logo

Stay CURRENT with our daily newsletter (M-F) and breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox for free!

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Current Publishing, 30 S. Range Line Road, Carmel, IN, 46032, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact