League of Women Voters candidate forums go online 


The League of Women Voters of Hamilton County will present five candidate forums in advance of the Nov. 3 general election.

Normally the forums would occur in a large venue with attendance open to the public, but because of the COVID-19 pandemic they will be posted on the group’s Facebook page. Voters may submit questions for the candidates by emailing them to [email protected].

“Even during a pandemic, the league is dedicated to its mission to educate voters as they prepare for the Nov. 3 elections,” LWVHC President Lisa Dick stated in a press release. “While we will miss offering voters a chance to attend these events in person, we still want to ensure they have the information they need to decide their votes.”

The day after the forums are recorded they will be posted at facebook.com/LWVofHamiltonCountyIndiana. The recordings will not be edited for time or content.

The forums are:

  • Sept. 15 (submit questions by Sept. 13) for Hamilton County Commissioner District 3 candidates Mark Heirbrandt and Dan Montgomery; Hamilton County Council At-Large candidates Brad Beaver, Sue Maki, Steve Nation, Gardiner Bink and Victor Schleich
  • Sept. 16 (submit questions by Sept. 14) for Hamilton County auditor candidates Robin Mills and Michael Roberts; Hamilton County treasurer candidates Susan Byer and Jake Madore; and Hamilton County surveyor candidates Kenton Ward and Brad Beer
  • Sept. 22 (submit questions by Sept. 20) for Indiana Senate District 20 candidates Scott Baldwin and Ronnie Saunders; Indiana House District 24 candidates Donna Schaibley and Naomi Bechtold; Indiana House District 29 candidates Chuck Goodrich and Mike Vick; and Indiana House District 32 candidates Tony Cook and Amie Neiling
  • Sept. 23 (submit questions by Sept. 21) for Indiana Senate District 30 candidates John Ruckelshaus and Fady Qaddoura; Indiana House District 37 candidates Todd Huston and Aimee Rivera Cole; Indiana House District 39 candidates Jerry Torr and Ashley Klein; and Indiana House District 88 candidates Chris Jeter and Pam Dechert
  • Sept. 29 (submit questions by Sept. 27) for 5th Congressional District candidates Christina Hale, Victoria Spartz, Ken Tucker, Ellen Kizik and Vernon Moore