Two new candidates slated for Lawrence Common Council election


Editor’s note: This report has been changed to include District 1 candidate Carl Barnett. Candidate information provided by Marion County Elections was updated after the original story was published. 

Two new candidates were added to the City of Lawrence general election ballot by the deadline for write-ins and those nominated by their party.

The deadline for a state chairman of a political party to nominate a candidate by petition or for an individual to declare an intent to be a write-in candidate was noon July 3, according to the Indiana Secretary of State’s Office.

According to the updated list of Marion County candidates, Republican Valerie Shake was nominated by County Chair Joe Elsener to run for the District 4 seat on the Lawrence Common Council and Carl Barnett was nominated for the District 1 seat.

A message seeking comment from the county GOP and seeking contact information for the new candidates was not answered at deadline.

Prior to their nomination, Democrats Carlos Jennings was running unopposed for the District 4 seat, and Tyrrell Giles was running unopposed for the District 1 seat.

The rest of the Lawrence election ballot remains unchanged following the May primary election. The Nov. 7 ballot will include the following candidates:

  • Mayor: Deb Whitfield (D); David Hofmann (R)
  • Clerk: Leatrice Adkisson (D); Kathleen Walton (R)
  • Common Council at large (three seats): Betty Robinson (D); Lisa Chavis (D); Liz Masur (D); Tom Ashcraft (R); Heather Hewitt (R); Bob Jones (R)
  • Council District 1: Tyrrell Giles (D); Carl Barnett (R)
  • Council District 2: Rick Wells (D)
  • Council District 3: Sherron Freeman (D); Brent Addington (R)
  • Council District 4: Carlos Jennings (D) Valerie Shake (R)
  • Council District 5: Zach Cramer (D) Pamela Anderson (R)
  • Council District 6: Kristina Krone (D); Aaron Short (R)